Freed Slave (Trait) Will Saves aren't properly stacking (at least with Steadfast Personality Feat and Indomitable Will Trait)

Description

I took the Steadfast Personality feat on my swashbuckler and my CHA bonus is +4. I also took the traits Freed Slave and Indomitable Will, which each add +1 to my Will saves. I also have a + 3 Cloak of Resist and my character is Lvl 11, so has a base +3 Will save. Thus, my Will save modifier should be 12 (3 Base + 3 Magic + 6 [4+1+1] Misc). However, I only see a +11 Will save (instead of 12) since there is only a +5 in the Misc column (when there should be a + 6), so something isn't properly stacking. After removing both traits to see where the discrepancy was, I noticed that the discrepancy seems to be on the Freed Slave Trait as it isn't adding to my Will save total.

Environment

None

Activity

Show:
Andrew Maitland
November 2, 2019, 5:57 PM

I’ll take a look, but unless specified otherwise, Trait Bonuses don’t stack. Freed Slave (Trait) and Indomitable Will (Trait) would not stack, unless the bonus is stated as different.

Andrew Maitland
November 2, 2019, 6:04 PM

Freed Slave - “You gain a +1 trait bonus on Will saves.” - Inner Sea Primer

Indomitable Will couldn’t find any trait with that name, but I found Indomitable Faith.

Indomitable Faith - “You gain a +1 trait bonus on Will saves.” - Ultimate Campaign.

Anyways, not a bug, working properly according to the Game System rules on like bonuses only take the highest value.

Andrew Maitland
November 2, 2019, 6:05 PM

Rules system not clearly understood by OP. Explained rules and the program as working in the intended fashion. Will not alter the program.

Christian Fernandez-Duque
November 3, 2019, 3:39 AM

Yeah, I’m relatively new to the D20 system, so thre are some details I’m still fuzzy on, admittedly. But Freed Slave is a Regional Trait and Indomitable Faith (you’re correct, “Indomitable Will” was an error on my part) is a Religion Trait.

 

Asking for confirmation: so two different traits that give a bonus to the same Saving Throw cannot stack, even if they’re from different categories of traits? (Damn, that sucks, now I’ll have to find a new trait to put there, preferably one that gives a bonus to Fort saves.)

Andrew Maitland
November 3, 2019, 3:58 AM

Bonuses of the same type regardless of source do not stack. There are some few exceptions to that rule but in this case the bonus type is Trait.

Assignee

Unassigned

Reporter

Christian Fernandez-Duque

Labels

None

Source Books

Pathfinder (Specify)

Epic/Theme

None

Pending User Input

No

Affects versions

Priority

Minor
Configure