Weapon Special Ability Can Be Added To Shield Even If Shield As Weapon Doesn't Have +1

Description

I may have found a bug...or I am misinterpreting Pathfinder 1st Ed. rules?

  • +n enhancement bonuses on shields can be added to their armor effectiveness or weapon effectiveness.

  • I _think _one shouldn't be able to add a weapon special ability to a shield unless at least +1 has been added to the weapon effectiveness (adding to armor effectiveness shouldn't count)

  • I used Customize button to first add +1 armor enhancement to darkwood shield and then was able to Customize to add menacing weapon special ability

Not sure if this is code or data. I haven't tested with other weapon special abilities besides menacing.

Environment

None

Activity

Show:
OJ LaBoeuf
November 16, 2019, 11:45 AM

PRETYPE:2,Enhancement,Weapon

All that is checking is that you have an Enhancement, and the thing is a Weapon.

apg_equipmods.lst#21

 

 

OJ LaBoeuf
November 16, 2019, 11:54 AM
Edited

probably instead need to look for the key Special Ability ~ +1 ~ Weapon / Special Ability ~ +1 ~ Shield / Special Ability ~ +1 ~ Armor when populating the chooser

Allen Cohn
November 17, 2019, 5:34 PM

Just for my education (implementing this change is above my skill level) where do these PRExxx tags need to be added? To every weapon special ability definition?

No rush at all.

Thanks,
Allen

OJ LaBoeuf
November 21, 2019, 5:48 AM

This spun up a whole conversation and in response we decided it was necessary to split Enhancements into more types. See

Allen Cohn
November 21, 2019, 2:56 PM

Wow! Thanks for letting me know. I apologize if I caused extra work.

Allen

Assignee

OJ LaBoeuf

Reporter

Allen Cohn

Labels

None

Source Books

PF - Core Rule Book

Epic/Theme

None

Pending User Input

No

Components

Fix versions

Affects versions

Priority

Minor
Configure