Archetypes that should be compatible are not behaving as such

Description

I have come across a few issues of archetypes that should be compatible, but are not behaving as such.

the first set is Crossblooded and razmiran priest for the sorcerer. Both archetypes should be compatible and work together. However i think i know the issue. The Cross blooded lets you choose which bloodlines bonus spells you recieve. The razmiran Priest replaces 2 of your bloodline spells. Since the crossblooded archetype still leaves you with what functions as bloodline spells, the razmiran priest can still replace them.

There was an errata covering this.
"Archetype: If an archetype replaces a class ability with a more specific version of that ability (or one that works similarly to the replaced ability), does the archetype's ability count as the original ability for the purpose of rules that improve the original ability?

It depends on how the archetype's ability is worded. If the archetype ability says it works like the standard ability, it counts as that ability. If the archetype's ability requires you to make a specific choice for the standard ability, it counts as that ability. Otherwise, the archetype ability doesn't count as the standard ability.
Pathfinder Design Team, 07/12/13"

The quote isn't specifically speaking about a changed feature being replaced, but it does give a clear definition of what changing the feature means and that changing it doesn't necessary mean it isn't the "same class feature." If it is still the same class feature it can then be replaced.

I believe this is also the issue with the scarred witch doctor and winter witch.
the winter witch limits the familiars accesible to the witch, but she still has the familiar class feature. the scarred witch doctor replaces the familiar with its fetish mask, which should still be allowed.

There are likely other examples of this. I may also be reading the faq completely wrong, and everything is working as intended.

Environment

Windows 10. i7 processor. 8gb Ram.

Activity

Show:
Andrew Maitland
April 26, 2020, 10:22 PM

Muddy waters… At what point is a Class Feature altered to the point another cannot modify it? Winter Witch limits the list to a specific grouping and the other one completely eliminates the list. Both modify the original feature. The system in place is pretty decent - Does it alter the class feature? Yes, then nothing else the alters that same feature is allowed. Otherwise, Why bother? I’ll end up chasing a moving target and at the end of the day I don’t like chasing moving targets. Archetypes are convoluted and annoying to track. I’ll admit the difference between “Alters Sneak Attack” and “Replaces Sneak Attack gained at Levels 3 and 5” are trickier.

Andrew Maitland
April 26, 2020, 10:24 PM

Unless a specific citation about allowing two closely related archetypes is given (Like Sneak Attack 1 and 5 and another doing 3 and 7) then I'm not going to adjust this. To many rules changes over the years.

Cancelled

Assignee

Unassigned

Reporter

zeke gray

Source Books

PF - Advanced Race Guide

Epic/Theme

Pending User Input

Yes

Components

Affects versions

Priority

Minor
Configure